Your thoughts are welcome

  1. Michele says

    Thanks for sharing tihs brilliantly clever video! Have celiacs in the family who will enjoy seeing this too as I pass it on to them.

  2. kaiopaka says

    Brilliant, but a major nit: Corn Flakes are NOT gluten-free. They contain malt, which is made from barley, which is a no-no on a gluten-free diet. Rice Krispies are not gluten-free, either, for the same reason, although they finally came out with a gluten-free line (the packages are a different colour and so marked). Even foods like Quaker Oats are not gluten-free, despite their label. They do not have to indicate it on their ingredients list, but they dust their lines with flour in order to keep the product moving smoothly through the packaging process. In fact, dry goods co’s do this frequently – such as nuts, chips, etc. So some of us cannot even trust in buying a snack bag of almonds, for example, if there is too much unidentifiable dust at the bottom of the package.

    Only a small amount of flour gets through, it’s true, but that is more than enough to make a sufferer of coeliac extremely ill. In fact, I discovered Quaker’s practice after four days of gut-wrenching coeliac agony to the point I was actually passing blood. When it comes to oats in general (you have oat milk in your video) many people with coeliac cannot tolerate them at all, and those who can must use gluten-free oats from a dedicated processing facility. I found such a facility (glutenfreeda) and can once again enjoy my favourite breakfast, but thanks to misleading information or lacking information entirely, many people continue to damage their digestive system and wonder why they keep suffering digestive pain and difficulty.

    So, no, not very well-researched or particularly good images to add in a video that some might believe presents entirely gluten-free options. Well-meaning family and friends are the absolute worst when it comes to this. It’s not much fun nor very pleasant for the other person when you, the coeliac sufferer, visit them and they proudly state they have cereal you can eat and give you Corn Flakes.

    If you check at’s forum, you’ll find the companies who are the worst cross-contaminators when it comes to the gluten that is hidden within many common foods. Like malt vinegar… and even some eateries milk shakes which contain malt or some who buy ground meat which is injected with wheat protein. Those are the real hidden dangers for those of us who must traverse life and work and travel whilst maintaining a strict gluten-free diet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *